Remember me Username/Password Help

Save Customer ID

The Preakness Stakes

Follow the link for all of the latest on Preakness Betting

The Preakness Stakes is a thoroughbred horse race for three-year-old horses. Inaugurated in 1873, the Preakness Stakes is held annually on the third Saturday in May. The event takes place at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland.

The Preakness is one of three races that comprise the Triple Crown, making up its second leg. It almost always attracts the winner of the Kentucky Derby, a few other Derby horses, and a few more that did not compete in the Derby.  The Preakness is nicknamed ???The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans??? because a blanket of flowers???Black-eyed Susans???is traditionally hanged around the winner???s neck.

The race is 1 3/16 miles, with the record set in 1985 by Tank???s Prospect (1:53 2/5 seconds). Louis Quatorze (1996) and Curlin (2007) have since tied the record. Secretariat, the 1973 champion, has been credited with equally that time but Pimlico Race Course does not recognize it, as there was a timer malfunction.

Rachel Alexandra won the Preakness Stakes in 2009, becoming the fifth filly to do so (and the first since 1924). Below are the past 20 Preakness Stakes winners:

2013    Oxbow
2012    I'll Have Another
2011    Shackleford
2010    Lookin At Lucky
2009    Rachel Alexandra
2008    Big Brown
2007    Curlin
2006    Bernardini
2005    Afleet Alex
2004    Smarty Jones
2003    Funny Cide
2002    War Emblem
2001    Point Given
2000    Red Bullet
1999    Charasmatic
1998    Real Quiet
1997    Silver Charm
1996    Louis Quatorze
1995    Timber Country
1994    Tabasco Cat
1993    Prairie Bayou
1992    Pine Bluff
1991    Hansel
1990    Summer Squall

↑ Back to page content
credit card deposit


At BetOnline, our company's guiding principle is to establish long-lasting, positive relationships with our customers and within the online gaming community. We believe this goal is

Learn More

About Us | Contact Us | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Site Map

↑ Back to top